Марія БровінськаUseful Guidelines
18 November 2024, 08:22
2024-11-18
How to delete an account from X (Twitter) on the phone and computer, and also painlessly return to the platform if desired? Instructions for all occasions
After the US presidential election, many more famous users and organizations are leaving the social network X (formerly Twitter), owned by Elon Musk. This decision was adopted by such well-known media and organizations as the British newspaperThe Guardian, the German football club FC St. Pauli, Steven King, who recently announced that he is leaving Elon Musk’s social network due to toxicity, as well as many celebrities.
We tell you how you can leave X, delete the program and, if you wish, return to the social network.
After the US presidential election, many more famous users and organizations are leaving the social network X (formerly Twitter), owned by Elon Musk. This decision was adopted by such well-known media and organizations as the British newspaperThe Guardian, the German football club FC St. Pauli, Steven King, who recently announced that he is leaving Elon Musk’s social network due to toxicity, as well as many celebrities.
We tell you how you can leave X, delete the program and, if you wish, return to the social network.
When you deactivate X’s account, you have 30 days to reactivate it before it is permanently deleted. You can also save your X username or email in case you want to use it with your new account.
Whether you’re taking a hiatus from social media or just want to start over, sometimes you just need to get rid of your X account, formerly known as Twitter.
If you’re ready to say goodbye to X, you can deactivate your account on the X website or mobile app for iPhone or Android. But there’s a lot more to know about removing X, like protecting your data, disconnecting third-party accounts, and reusing your username or email.
How to delete X account on iPhone or Android
Open the X app on your iPhone or Android.
Tap your profile picture in the top left corner and select Settings & Support.
From the Settings and Support menu, click Settings and Privacy.
Click on Settings and Support and the Settings and Privacy drop-down menu will appear. Jaures Yip/Business Insider
Click on the account at the top of Settings.
From the Settings & Privacy menu, click Your Account. Jaures Yip/Business Insider
At the bottom of the page, select Deactivate account.
Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Deactivate.
Enter your password and tap Deactivate one last time.
How to delete X account on computer
Go to the X website and log in to your account.
In the menu on the left of the X home page, click the three dots in the lower left corner.
Tap the three dots in the lower left corner. Jaures Yip/Business Insider
In the pop-up window, select «Settings and support».
Click on Settings & Privacy. Jaures Yip/Business Insider
At the top of the settings menu, click Your Account.
Go to «Your Account». Jaures Yip/Business Insider
Click Deactivate Account at the bottom of the menu.
Click Deactivate at the bottom of the page.
Enter your password and click the Deactivate button.
Enter your password and click Deactivate. Jaures Yip/Business Insider
How to remove program X
If you’re not ready to delete your X account but want to take a break from the social network, you can delete the app from your device without deleting your entire account.
To uninstall App X on iPhone, hold your finger on the app icon and tap Uninstall App at the bottom.
A pop-up window will appear and you can click the «Uninstall app» option to uninstall the app. Alternatively, to move an app to your app library, tap Remove from Home Screen.
To uninstall app X on Android, hold your finger on the app icon and tap Uninstall, or to hide the app, drag it to the app tray.
How to reuse your username or email address on X
When you delete your X account, your username is deleted along with it. If you wish to reuse your username, please change your username to one that you do not mind deleting before deactivating your account.
Before deactivating your account, you can follow the steps below to save your current username or email address for future use.
Open X in your browser or mobile app and sign in.
In your web browser or mobile phone, click your profile picture in the upper left corner of your screen.
Select the «Settings and privacy» option from the «Settings and support» drop-down menu.
In Settings, select «Your Account» and then click the «Account Information» option.
Click the gray arrow next to your username.
Update your username in the New section.
When finished, click Done.
Disconnect any third-party apps from your account.Third-party applications may reactivate your account. To prevent this from happening, make sure you disconnect all third-party apps from your X account.
Open X in your browser or mobile app and sign in.
In your web browser or mobile phone, click your profile picture in the upper left corner of your screen.
Go to the Security and Account Access tab.
Click the Programs and Sessions tab.
In the pop-up window, select the Connected Apps tab.
You can see all your connected apps in the list that appears (none will appear if you don’t have any connected apps). If you have connected apps, you’ll be able to select each app and click «Remove App Permissions.»
How to reactivate an X account
Open X in your browser or mobile app and sign in.
Log in to your deactivated account.
An X message will ask you to confirm that you want to reactivate.
Your account will be restored, although it may take a few days for all your tweets and messages to reappear.
Deleting tweets
To delete a post, click the three buttons in the upper right corner of the tweet, then click Delete Post.
Click the three buttons in the upper right corner of the tweet, then click Delete Post. Jaures Yip/Business Insider
Backup copies
If you’re debating whether or not to leave X, you should back up your tweets and other data in case you change your mind.
Go to «Settings and privacy», then «Your account» and click «Upload your data archive».
Click «Upload archive of your data». Jaures Yip/Business Insider
Then enter your username and password to receive a ZIP file with your account information. You will be notified when it is ready to download.
What you need to know before deactivating your profile
Here’s what to keep in mind if you decide to deactivate or delete your Twitter profile.
Deleting your Twitter profile will not remove your information from search engines such as Google or Bing, as Twitter does not control these sites. You can take some action by contacting the search engine itself.
When you deactivate your Twitter profile, mentions of your profile username in other people’s tweets will remain. However, they will not link to your profile as it is no longer available. If you would like to have your content reviewed for compliance with the Twitter Guidelines, you can submit a request here .
You do not need to delete your profile to change the username or email address associated with your Twitter profile. You can update them at any time in the Profile Details section.
To restore your profile, simply log in within 30 days of deactivation.
If you want to download your Twitter data, you must request it before deactivating your profile. Deactivating a profile does not remove data from Twitter’s systems.
Twitter may retain some information about your deactivated profile for the security and protection of its platform and Twitter users. Additional information can be found here .
Що робити, щоб ваші твіти не блокували кремлеботи. Інструкція
Соціальна мережа Twitter — один з головних майданчиків для поширення інформації про війну в Україні західній спільноті. Але де правда про війну, там відразу з’являються боти Кремля, які кидають страйки. Розповідаємо що робити, аби ваші твіти не блокували.
Битва за розум. Як Facebook і Twitter спинили операцію США, спрямовану проти російської пропаганди в соцмережах
Twitter, Facebook і Instagram видалили низку облікових записів, які були спрямовані проти російської пропаганди і боролися з нею в тому числі і за допомогою мемів. За словами дослідників, кампанія тривала майже 5 років. Розповідаємо головне з матеріалу Vice.
Have important news to share? Message our Telegram bot
Key events and useful links in our Telegram channel